How to add owners to an account
If you or your organization have subscribed to the Business Plan, you can add multiple account owners to the organization's account. An account owner is able to create and delete apps in the organization's account. It's also possible to let any account owner handle billing and add other account owners.
Apps that were created by the account owner do count against the organization account limits. The account owner himself does not need a separate paid account, but if they do (e.g. because they are a freelance developer with his own projects), they can create apps in boths account. There is no limit in how many accounts a user can manage.
Organizations require a unique e-mail address that is used to facilitate multiple owners on the same HockeyApp account. An organization e-mail address may not be used to login to HockeyApp. You may use a generic admin e-mail address, an alias of an existing e-mail address, or the e-mail address of a distribution list as your organization e-mail address.
The following steps describe how to setup and use the account owners feature.
Login to HockeyApp and click on your name in the top navigation bar, then on the organization, and finally on Owners. If the account has owners left, you should see an input area to add a new account owner. Enter the email address of the new owner. It does not matter if they are already a user of HockeyApp or not. If they are not, HockeyApp will send him an email with instructions on how to confirm the new account and set a password.
If an account owner changes the position or leaves you company, you have two options to remove him or her from the account:
Click on "Demote" and the owner will lose his rights to manage the account, but keep all memberships as a developer, member or tester of the organization's apps.
Clicking on "Remove" and the owner will lose his rights to manage the account and be removed from all apps.
When an owner logs in into HockeyApp, they will see information about all accounts in the account settings. Please note that the account owner does not automatically become a member of all your apps unless this option was activated for this owner. The current logic is as follows:
If an account owner creates a new app, this app is only visible to him and all developers, members, and testers of this app. The app will only be visible to the owner if the option "Add to all apps automatically" is enabled or the owner was manually added to the app.
If an account owner creates a new app in the organization's account, the app is visible to them and to the organization itself. Both users have equal rights for updating and deleting the app as well as adding new developers or testers to it.
If an account owner moves an app from his account to the company account, the owner will be downgraded from owner to developer. They still can view the app, upload builds or delete the app.
Account owners can also add or remove other owners. When adding a new owner, the current account owner can only set the rights that they have themselves. For example, if an account owner has no access to the billing data, they can not add a new owner with such access.
If the account owner creates or uploads a new app or edits an existing app, they can select the account in which the app should be saved.
Do you have a question or found a bug? Please contact support to let us know.